Installed Windows Server 2008 64 bit on my Thinkpad T61!!!

So after a long time of putting up with loading up VM on my Vista and dealing with it being slow, I have decided to give Windows Server 2008 a try. So I will be able to do my developement and SharePoint work right of my host machine.  I have heard many conflicting reports about loosing a lot of functionality when running a Windows Server as my host, but I found a great tool that would do most of the work for you with a few clicks.  The name of the tool I believe is Serv08Convert10, and you can get it from the following link:

http://bink.nu/news/archive/tags/Windows+Server+2008/default.aspx

I have installed Windows Server 2008 (64 bit) and used the tool, and installed the drivers for the Thinkpad T61, and I got all the features that I had with my original OS (Vista Business 32 bit) even the ‘Finger Print Login’ feature.  So to anyone thinking about doing it I suggest you go for it and good luck.

Nas

Leave a comment